A Dude Goes Into The Harbor: The 1955 Monaco GP

A Personal Perspective on the evolution of GP Evolved.

Implicitly, I have pledged to cover every Formula 1 Championship race.  That means, I will be writing between seven and twenty-seven posts per F1 Championship season.  Perhaps, I have a vision.  But, I remain open to the possibility of utter failure.  That, for me, is the scary part about blogging.  But, by covering every race, one post at a time, I hope to gain a unique perspective on the pursuit of ultimate quickness.  Moreover, in doing this, I hope to discover greater truths about sport and, more generally, human nature.  Why has this quest to be fastest around a track–over and over–persisted in excess of sixty years and gobbled untold billions of dollars?  To me, this is a great mystery.  What has it all been for?  Men and women have gone to incredible lengths, just for a brief moment of glory.  What drives us, as humans, to work so hard for just a flash of glory?  Is it all worth it?  These are the real things that I hope to discover.  So, I suppose that my greatest hope is that this project will give me some insight into human nature, while bringing the story of F1 to an audience who may otherwise not be exposed about it.  But, rest assured, I also hope to give enough detail to keep you hardcore F1 junkies entertained as well!

But, the particulars of this project present a unique challenge.  So, assuming you do not mind indulge the author revealing a bit about his process, I thought that I would take a few minutes to describe my experience in retelling the stories of ill-documented and nearly-forgotten Grands Prix (I assure you that is the correct plural form of Grand Prix).  Anyway, from my perspective, their are three types of races:

First up, the average race.  The challenge on the majority of races is to create a narrative, where none may be apparent.  I suspect that this, to a large extent, is the challenge of blogging in general.  At the same time, I must create a narrative that remains both true and honest to the bare facts of that particular Sunday afternoon.  (To non-fans of motorsport, almost every major motorsport race takes place on a Sunday–hence the expression, “win on Sunday, sell on Monday”).

Second, the confusing race.  These are the technically difficult posts to write.  Sometimes, something unusual, unique, or just plain weird goes down.  These tend to be difficult to describe.  They are perhaps the least enjoyable to write.  Yet, my vision demands completeness, so these races must be addressed.  I just hope I can keep them interesting enough for you–the reader.

Third, the “EPIC race.”  My favorite kind of race to write about, is the rare race that embodies the grand essence of Grands Prix racing.  More often than not, the Monaco Grand Prix falls into this category.  With time, hopefully, you may begin to see what I see in this race.  My challenge in addressing these races is to effectively capture the character of these races.  Although the “EPIC” races are my favorite to write about, they also cause me to question my abilities, as a writer.  I am, in fact, self-conscious about my ability to write.  But, this has not tended to stop me from pursuing my dream of relating the story of Formula 1 to a new, different audience.  Even still, my self-doubt leads me to question whether I am even capable of capturing and retelling the magic that I see in the sport.  Self-doubt aside, it is time to relate a truly EPIC race–the 1955 Monaco Grand Prix.

The 1955 Monaco Grand Prix.

Česky: Plánek trati v Monte Carlu na kterém se...

The Monaco Grand Prix race track setup, as it was run circa 1955.

In spite of my previous comment, I have decided not to, myself, describe the 1955 Monaco GP.  Once in a while, a short video appears that describes the race in a fashion better than I ever could.  This is one of those cases.  Thus, I will leave you to enjoy the following news clip: