1955 Italian GP: A New Day.

The 1955 Grand Prix at Monza.

So, where were we?  There was the tragedy at Le Mans.  Then there was the British Grand Prix, won by Stirling Moss.  A lot has happened in the interim since then.  For one, the German Grand Prix, the Swiss Grand Prix, and the and the Spanish Grand Prix

Autodromo Nazionale Monza layout

Autodromo Nazionale Monza layout in 1955. Note, this is first year that the oval returned. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

were all cancelled in the interim.  Whereas the championship was open at the end of the British GP, it was now settled by way of the cancellations.  So, Fangio had been handed his second consecutive championship (though, this would be his third total).

On another note, and a story I have only seen references to, Enzo Ferrari got ahold of the since-retired Lancia D50s.  That I can confirm.  The part I cannot confirm is that, allegedly, Ferrari was paid by Lancia to take them off his hand.  I’ve picked up a biography of Enzo Ferrari, so hopefully more anecdotes will be forthcoming.

As for the race itself, it was a pretty straightforward affair.   Fangio led nearly every lap.  Moss came on strong, but it would not be his day.  Enough said.  I think I’ll leave it at that, because I really want to get to the next part of this post…

Fangio’s Going The Distance: The Video.

Yeah (for better or worse), I made this.  It’s mostly footage from 1955.  And mostly Juan-Manuel Fangio, except for the dudes on the motorcycle.  Oh, yeah, a little James Dean slid in there, since he passed in September of 1955.